How to Find the Best Independent Spirit Awards 2024 Winners and Nomines

Independent Spirit Awards 2024 Winners and Nomines

The 39th Film Independent Spirit Awards for 2023’s best indie films and TV shows will be on February 25, 2024, hosted by Aidy Bryant at the Santa Monica Pier. Nominations announced on December 5, 2023, had “American Fiction,” “May December,” and “Past Lives” leading.

Live from Santa Monica beach, the 2024 Spirit Awards celebrated films. “Past Lives” won Best Feature and Director for Celine Song. “American Fiction” won Best Performance and Screenplay for Cord Jefferson. “The Holdovers” got Best Supporting Performance and Dominic Sessa won Breakthrough Performance.

The Awards also honored TV series. “The Last of Us” and “I’m a Virgo” got four nominations, “Beef” had three, and “Jury Duty” had two. “Beef” and “The Last of Us” each won two awards. The Spirit Awards changed last year with gender-neutral acting prizes and a $30 million budget cap, now 15 days before the Oscars. dailyjugarr will update winners during the ceremony.Check out the full list of Independent Spirit Awards 2024 winners and nominees below.


Best Feature

All of Us Strangers
American Fiction
May December
WINNER: Past Lives
We Grown Now

Best Director

Andrew Haigh, All of Us Strangers
Todd Haynes, May December
William Oldroyd, Eileen
Ira Sachs, Passages
WINNER: Celine Song, Past Lives

Best First Feature

All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt
Chronicles of a Wandering Saint
Earth Mama
WINNER: A Thousand and One
Upon Entry

Best Lead Performance

Jessica Chastain, Memory
Greta Lee, Past Lives
Trace Lysette, Monica
Natalie Portman, May December
Judy Reyes, Birth/Rebirth
Franz Rogowski, Passages
Andrew Scott, All of Us Strangers
Teyana Taylor, A Thousand and One
WINNER: Jeffrey Wright, American Fiction
Teo Yoo, Past Lives

Best Supporting Performance

Erika Alexander, American Fiction
Sterling K. Brown, American Fiction
Noah Galvin, Theater Camp
Anne Hathaway, Eileen
Glenn Howerton, BlackBerry
Marin Ireland, Eileen
Charles Melton, May December
WINNER: Da’Vine Joy Randolph, The Holdovers
Catalina Saavedra, Rotting in the Sun
Ben Whishaw, Passages

Best Breakthrough Performoance

Marshawn Lynch, Bottoms
Atibon Nazaire, Mountains
Tia Nomore, Earth Mama
WINNER: Dominic Sessa, The Holdovers
Anaita Wali Zada, Fremont

Best Screenplay

David Hemingson, The Holdovers
WINNER: Cord Jefferson, American Fiction
Laura Moss, Brendan J. O’Brien, Birth/Rebirth
Emma Seligman, Rachel Sennott, Bottoms
Celine Song, Past Lives

Best First Screenplay

WINNER: Samy Burch; Story by Samy Burch, Alex Mechanik, May December
Noah Galvin, Molly Gordon, Nick Lieberman, Ben Platt, Theater Camp
Tomás Gómez Bustillo, Chronicles of a Wandering Saint
Laurel Parmet, The Starling Girl
Alejandro Rojas, Juan Sebastián Vásquez, Upon Entry

Best Cinematography

Katelin Arizmendi, Monica
WINNER: Eigil Bryld, The Holdovers
Jomo Fray, All Dirt Roads Taste of Salt
Pablo Lozano, Chronicles of a Wandering Saint
Pat Scola, We Grown Now

Best Editing

Santiago Cendejas, Gabriel Díaz, Sofía Subercaseaux, Rotting in the Sun
Stephanie Filo, We Grown Now
WINNER: Daniel Garber, How to Blow Up a Pipeline 
Jon Philpot, Theater Camp
Emanuele Tiziani, Upon Entry

Best Documentary

Bye Bye Tiberias
WINNER: Four DaughtersGoing to Mars: The Nikki Giovanni Project
Kokomo City
The Mother of All Lies

Best International Film

WINNER: Anatomy of a Fall
Mami Wata
The Zone of Interest

Robert Altman Award

WINNER: Showing Up
Director: Kelly Reichardt
Casting Director: Gayle Keller
Ensemble Cast: André Benjamin, Hong Chau, Judd Hirsch, Heather Lawless, James Le Gros, John Magaro, Matt Malloy, Amanda Plummer, Maryann Plunkett, Denzel Rodriguez, Michelle Williams

Someone to Watch Award

Joanna Arnow, Director of The Feeling That the Time for Doing Something Has Passed
Laura Moss, Director of Birth/Rebirth
WINNER: Monica Sorelle, Director of Mountains

Truer Than Fiction Award

WINNER: Set Hernandez, Director of unseen
Jesse Short Bull, Laura Tomaselli, Director of Lakota Nation vs. United States
Sierra Urich, Director of Joonam

John Cassavetes Award

The Artifice Girl
Cadejo Blanco
WINNER: Fremont
Rotting in the Sun 
The Unknown Country

Producers Award

Rachael Fung
Graham Swon
WINNER: Monique Walton


Best New Scripted Series

Dreaming Whilst Black
I’m a Virgo
Jury Duty

Best New Non-Scripted or Documentary Series

Deadlocked: How America Shaped the Supreme Court
WINNER: Dear Mama
Murder in Big Horn 
Stolen Youth: Inside the Cult at Sarah Lawrence

Best Lead Performance in a New Scripted Series

Emma Corrin, A Murder at the End of the World
Dominique Fishback, Swarm
Betty Gilpin, Mrs. Davis
Jharrel Jerome, I’m a Virgo
Zoe Lister-Jones, Slip
Bel Powley, A Small Light
Bella Ramsey, The Last of Us
Ramón Rodríguez, Will Trent
WINNER: Ali Wong, Beef
Steven Yeun, Beef

Best Supporting Performance in a New Scripted Series

Murray Bartlett, The Last of Us
Billie Eilish, Swarm
Jack Farthing, Rain Dogs
WINNER: Nick Offerman, The Last of Us
Adina Porter, The Changeling
Lewis Pullman, Lessons in Chemistry
Benny Safdie, The Curse
Luke Tennie, Shrinking
Olivia Washington, I’m a Virgo
Jessica Williams, Shrinking

Best Breakthrough Performance in a New Scripted Series

Clark Backo, The Changeling
Aria Mia Loberti, All the Light We Cannot See
Adjani Salmon, Dreaming Whilst Black
WINNER: Keivonn Montreal Woodard, The Last of Us


Jury Duty (WINNER)
Ensemble Cast: Alan Barinholtz, Susan Berger, Cassandra Blair, David Brown, Kirk Fox, Ross Kimball, Pramode Kumar, Trisha LaFache, Mekki Leeper, James Marsden, Edy Modica, Kerry O’Neill, Rashida Olayiwola, Whitney Rice, Maria Russell, Ishmel Sahid, Ben Seaward, Ron Song, Evan Williams

Like it? Share with your friends!

leo writes


Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Choose A Format
Formatted Text with Embeds and Visuals
The Classic Internet Listicles
The Classic Internet Countdowns
Open List
Submit your own item and vote up for the best submission
Ranked List
Upvote or downvote to decide the best list item